It’s Good to Have a Guide!

This is a traffic map of the way I get to work.

This morning it was pretty tame – most days, there’s a lot more red on the traffic maps early in the day, because traffic is usually a disastrous hot mess.  But I drive about 20 miles to work each day, so knowing what the route looks like can be a big help.

One morning this week, Brian left the house earlier than I did.  That usually doesn’t happen, as I’m most often out the door ahead of him.  But on this particular day, he was ahead of me.  We often talk on the phone in the mornings, and we were talking that day (thank you, Bluetooth, for letting us talk without holding phones up to our ears!).  As we talked, he told me what traffic looked like on the bridge across the Mississippi River.  He was able to tell me where the slowdowns were, and said I might want to get off on a side street and pick up the interstate farther along the way.  I did, and it saved me some time and headache in traffic.

Wouldn’t it be great if we had someone who could act as a guide for us in our everyday lives?  Someone who’d already been where we were going and could give us directions as to what path we should take?  Wow, that would be amazing.

You know what?  We do.

There isn’t a place we’re headed to that God hasn’t walked before us.  There isn’t a day we face that He hasn’t seen.  He knows what’s coming, and He stands ready to walk with us through whatever each day may bring.

As Lauren Daigle says in her song Trust in You, “Your ways are always higher, Your plans are always good, There’s not a place that I’ll go You’ve not already stood.”  What a marvelous thought.  I don’t have to fear the future because I have a Guide who has already seen what’s around the corner.  He’s just waiting for me to trust Him to direct my path.

About bunkie68

Mom to boys. Happily married. Jesus follower. Avid reader. Amateur foodie. Scentsy consultant. I thrive on chocolate and strong coffee, and I need some extra hours in my day.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

